Wednesday, 1 August 2012

Movin' On Up

Today is the day that I am moving into my first official apartment. I've lived on my own for the past almost 5 years, but in a house that I 'rented' from my dad. Prior to that, I lived in student housing...but again in a house. 

I have never lived in an apartment before. The Communications- Media & Culture major in me is curious about apartment culture and the dynamics of an apartment complex. I'm not scared per say...but I am wondering if I will fit in. With no previous apartment experience, what's the etiquette and/or protocol? 
 
The building I'm moving into is a low rise and I am told that there is just one child in the building, with the majority of the residents being under the age of 35 (myself and the building super included). I wanted to live in a building with younger residents because I felt it would be easier to fit in and meet people. 
 
I'm moving to a new City and I have 2 co-workers, plus our summer student. So, not a lot of opportunity to make friends at work. Well, I'm friendly with them all...but at my previous job, I became really good friends with 5 of my co-workers and we'd frequently socialize outside of work. With 3 employees...no opportunity to become a 'group'.

I'm not excited about this move either...even though everyone tells me I should be. I'm excited that I will no longer have the 2+ hour (depending one traffic) commute to and from work everyday. That was a total of 4 hours of commuting for a 6 hour work day for the past 3.5 weeks. I'm also looking forward to putting in a full 7.5 hour day. 

My bed and tv are being delivered today. My couch is being...I'm not sure when...whenever it's in stock, I guess. And that's it. That's all I've got. I don't have any of my own furniture, pots, pans, plates, glasses, etc. 

I have my clothes, books, DVDs. I'm not even bringing everything with me. I'm leaving some stuff here, at our second home. I will eventually move the majority of the left behind stuff to the new apartment. I figured, no point in moving the stuff if I have no where to put it. I don't have shelves, bookcases, dressers, etc. I do have a super small closet, which comes with the place. 

I won't have my cable or internet set up...I have to pick a company and arrange that. But I'm bringing my Kindle and some DVDs to watch on my laptop. 
 
The summer student and I are going shopping after work. She's going to help me pick out items for my apartment...the necessary things, like a microwave and pillows for my bed, as well as organizational items. It should be fun, right?

I'll be back on Friday, after work, to spend the weekend here. It is the long weekend after all, so where else would I be? 

I'm a bit...hmm...about leaving this house, where I've lived for 5 years. But it is a family home, so I can still spend time here. I'm looking forward to having a 'weekend home' again, a place to escape too. There's some nostalgia for the first place that I lived on my own, without roommates. Lots of happy times and memories here...some of them from before I moved here full time. I know that I will still have the chance to make memories at this house... As well as new memories in a new City.
 
City living...I'm looking forward to that again! After 5 years in Rural Ontario, I'm ready for the City life! 
 
This is a new adventure...and I can't wait for it to unfold!

1 comment:

  1. HI! Found you thru the Sunday blog hop...taking me a few days to get thru the LONG list!

    Following you! YAY!
    Tif
    Ramblings of a Southern Belle
    http://www.her-southern-ramblings.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete